Happily Ever After

I like happily ever after endings, most of the time. I enjoy the feeling they give me about the characters and their semi lasting happiness. It probably comes from my love of fairy tales, where the main character usually gets their happily ever after and the villain(s) get their comeuppance. That isn’t to say I don’t like book without happily ever afters, but the stories have to be well written and not end like that for purposes of depressing the audience. As far as I’m concerned if I want to be depressed I can read the news.

Which is why we read stories, watch movie, and go for the happily ever after in our entertainment. Or at least that is my theory. We want to see people have a happy ending to their story because the rest of the world doesn’t like to show us those. Also we want those type of endings for ourselves. We want to marry our soul mate, or get that perfect job, retire rich in our thirties, or whatever else our dreams are made of. We want the happily ever after. Or if you anything like me, if you can’t have your happily ever after at least hope that the ending is well written and worthy of the story.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, Princess or Pirate, and A Thief In Search of a Baby. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at litnlaughter@gmail.com. To help me out financially: https://www.patreon.com/BHeatherMantler

Posted on June 16, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment