Concentration

One of the biggest problems I have been having with writing at the moment is trying to concentrate. There are so many other things to do, especially if the internet is just a click away. The best site for distracting me is That Guy with the Glasses. I can spend hours there.

But going back to concentrating on writing. I have found something that helps with internet related distractions. It is called Freedom. It turns off your internet for a length of time that you specify. This means that you cannot do anything on the internet until that time is up, unless you restart your computer, or borrow someone else’s computer. The point being that it would be too much trouble to do those things.

This program has helped me, because mentally I know that the internet is turned off and I don’t even try to click the button. However, it has not helped with all distractions. I found out that you can change the backgrounds and tiles in mah-jong on my computer. I seem to win more games with the change in tiles.

With Freedom, it is easy to find, all you have to do is type it into a search engine. You can download the trial version, which gives you five uses before you have to buy. When you do go to buy it the cost is only tens dollars. The website will tell you that many people believe that to be money well spent. I have not invested any money into yet, but it seems to be a good program for those of us who have internet related concentration problems.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, and Princess or Pirate. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at mantlerpublishing@gmail.com.

Posted on November 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I do not actually appreciate how I ended way up here, however imagined this informative article has been good. I can’t recognise that you’re nevertheless unquestionably you are likely to a famous digg when you are not already. All the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

