Distractions

Written November 25:

National Novel Writing Month is a donation based organization that supports millions of novelists every November as they challenged themselves to write 50, 000 words in 30 days. This is a challenge in self-discipline and distraction avoidance. This being day 26 of 30 and me being 27, 187 words into the 50,000, I would love it if the world would leave me alone to write. There are school assignments, the internet, birthdays, mid-terms, class, book selling, family, family related emergencies, and other distractions. The only one I have found a solution for is the internet and I’m down to two uses before I have to come up with ten dollars from somewhere, which brings me back to book selling.

So, I have one last weekend in November and 22, 813 words to go. I know that I can do it. The problem is the distractions.

Many of these distractions plague me the rest of the year and prevent me from getting as much writing done as I would like. Every writer seems to suffer from this problem. After all if a writer didn’t have to worry about making money or doing chores there would be a lot more time for writing. Some have figured out how to deal with distractions, or at least claim that ability. I would love to have that ability and then I might have an easier time getting everything I need to done.

I started out already ahead the first week. After that I had trouble with distractions. Now I have 4 days out of 30. I can finish the 22, 813 words in that time. So, you’ll have to excuse me while I get back to work.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, and Princess or Pirate. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at mantlerpublishing@gmail.com.

Posted on December 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

