Ninjas

So, you’re stuck on the story you are writing. You’ve read back through the story, created character sketches, outlined where you want to go, and tried to force yourself to keep writing. None of it seems to be working at getting you unstuck. You ask someone else for help and you are told that writer’s block doesn’t really exist. What do you do now?

I have a suggestion. Add ninjas. For those of you who just said awesome, you know how this works and you can go back to writing. For those of you who said “Ninjas?” I’ll explain.

If you drop ninjas into your scene then your characters have to react to them. If you characters react you have something to write about. Once the ninjas are dealt with you can move on with the story. And the best part is you can edit them out later. Or you can keep them in if you like how it turned out.

You don’t have to use ninjas if you really don’t want to. Have a gunshot go off. Have someone break down the door. Have the man character kidnapped. Have the TV turn on and tell the characters what to do next. The point is to add in something that will force your characters to react and thus get on with the story.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, and Princess or Pirate. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at mantlerpublishing@gmail.com.

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

