Fairy Tales

I enjoy fairy tales, all fairy tales from the Grimm’s originals to Disney’s sanitized. They are fairly simple and fun. Usually there was a lesson mixed in. The good guys always won and the bad guys were tricked into their own punishment. There was a plot, memorable characters, and usually a part that was funny. And even as an adult they are entertaining.

My first book, The King’s Ransom, is very much based on my love of fairy tales. The original outline was simple and the story was supposed to be as short as a fairy tale. For my second attempt at NaNoWriMo I thought having an outline would help ma and I found that one. The rest of the story grew from there. However, elements that I enjoy from fairy tales remain. The good guys win, there is a plot, memorable characters, and moments that make you laugh.

I continued those similarities in the second and third books in the series. For Wealth and Glory incorporated more of the magical elements than The King’s Ransom. Closing the Portal included the magic and the quest based adventure. The fourth book, which is due out in April, contains the plot, memorable characters, and funny parts, but is not the same type of adventure. This time the king’s quest is very much at home.

So, if you like the Disney versions check out the original Grimm’s. If you like the original Grimm’s check out some fantasy novels like the ones above.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, and Princess or Pirate. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at mantlerpublishing@gmail.com.

Posted on March 15, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

