Camp NaNoWriMo April 2014

The Office of Letters and Light, which run NaNoWriMo in November, also have started camp sessions in April and July. Camp NaNoWriMo can be used to write all kinds of things, especially since you don’t really have to start something new, there are flexible word counts, and you don’t have to be working on a novel.

I have been doing Camp since it started and have turned out a few novels. Some published (Closing the Portal), some in editing stages (Syriana’s Crime), and some never to see the light of day. This year I thought I would do two novels in the Kings of Proster series that I have been writing during other sessions of NaNoWriMo. The only other things I needed to worry about this month was the Easter Drama I was in and finding a job, so I thought I could do two 50k word novels in a month. Easy, right?

The Easter Drama is over and my job search is stalled, so the writing must be going well, right? Well, I started the first novel called Lovers & Losses and in it the main character is reading a book. I decided to put in pieces of the book. Now I have three books to write by the end of the month, two from the Kings of Proster series and one by a fictitious author who won’t leave me alone until his novel is complete.

So, either I will finish what I set out for myself, or I will end up in a padded room. I hope you enjoy the rest of April.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, and Princess or Pirate. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at mantlerpublishing@gmail.com.

Posted on April 15, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

