Proof Reading

I should give a warning before I continue and the warning is I hate proof reading and editing. However, over time I have learned editing is important to the story. Editing finds the errors and plot holes, which need to be fixed before someone else reads it. With some pieces it is best if a first edit has been done before getting a reader to go through it. This catches missing words, weird sentences, major plot holes, and other such things. This helps the reader make sense of what they are reading.

Proofing is going through the book before it is published. I proofed two books in April, which I should have done back at the end of March because the books ended up being late and now I can’t get physical copies until May despite the release date being in April. When proofing, I am not looking for major changes because the story should be finished. I am looking for the minor errors that made the difference between professional quality and not quite there.

Both editing and proofing drain my energy. I would much rather write than do either. This is problematic as it leaves first drafts of novels around, but little for finished projects. Something to work on and try to get better at.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, Princess or Pirate, and A Thief In Search of a Baby. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at litnlaughter@gmail.com.

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

