Fantasy

When I was introduced to the genre of fantasy it was not trilogies of epic sagas that were big enough to be used as bricks for houses. It was funny fantasy stories like the Myth series by Robert Asprin, the WizBiz books by Rick Cook, the Captain Yor books by Roy V. Young, the books of Craig Shaw Gardner, Heroics for Beginners by John Moore, and the first couple of the Xanth books by Piers Anthony. These were my introduction to fantasy and my inspiration to write fantasy.

I wanted to write books like these to entertainment people with the same likes in reading material as I do. Alas my fantasy novels are far more serious and lack the comic genius of these great books. I still strive for this dream, but I feel that I will always fall short of this goal. The only thing helping sooth the irritation of not being able to write this way is being able to go back and read these works over and over; to be entertained not once, but many times. And when I find books similar I feel like I have found a valuable gem. If you like fantasy that is light and entertaining pick up a book by one of these authors. I think you’ll like them.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, Princess or Pirate, and A Thief In Search of a Baby. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at litnlaughter@gmail.com.

Posted on July 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

