Handwriting vs. Typing

Many people seem to think it is weird to handwrite a novel when it is much easier and faster to type everything into the computer. I’m one of those people who will write stories out by hand and then type them up. I don’t write them out all the time, just occasionally.

When I write things out by hand, it has a calming effect. It is a form of relaxation and mindfulness. Sometimes it is the best way to get around a block. As long as it isn’t too much at once, it is great. But the hand has muscles in it that if not used regularly loses its strength. So it is best to do short increments to start with. Five minutes with a two minute rest over the period of an hour stops cramps before they can get started.

Typing is faster and removes a whole step from the process. It is a means of getting the story down and finished as quickly as possible. Sometimes it is much easier to get in flow when typing. Flow can also be trouble when writing by hand because your hand can fall behind where your head is. I have been told it is much easier for left handed people to type things up, but I believe preference also factors into which people use.

Both writing by hand and typing a good ways of getting the story down. Handwriting is not for everyone depending on preference and readability, but it can be relaxing. Typing is good for flow and speed. And crayon is for those times when you have the urge to write but lack anything else to use.

 

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, Princess or Pirate, and A Thief In Search of a Baby. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at litnlaughter@gmail.com.

Posted on October 21, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I thought I was the only one who write long hand and then type on screen. What a relief 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

