Why the Wait

Many readers wonder why it takes so long for writers to get their next book out. I wondered this for many years as a reader and it wasn’t until I was writing books that I understood. It isn’t the writing of the next book that takes so long, it is the editing. Writing is easy, all you have to do is sit down and listen to what the character tells you. Editing is clarifying that message. This can mean rewriting the story several times. It could mean reading it through a dozen times to get the missed words, the grammatical mistakes, and spelling errors. It means giving it to a test reader, who may come back with questions that reveal the plot hole big enough to swallow the whole story.

All this editing happens before you send the story to the publisher, who if they accept it will pass it on to their own editing team. This editing takes some more time as if get passed back and forth between the editing team and the writer until they are sure they have gotten all the plot holes, grammatical errors, and minor story mistakes. The reader will find the rest of them once the book finally gets in their hands after that long wait.

 

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, and Princess or Pirate. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at mantlerpublishing@gmail.com.

Posted on November 3, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

