The Perfect Book

To me the perfect book is when you pick up the exact one you wanted to read, even when you had no idea what you were looking for. This has happened to be a few times in my life. The last time was several months ago. I headed to the library looking for a fantasy book to read, but not really expecting to find much. The first book I picked up I was not sure about because the reason I picked it up was that I had seen it recently on Good Reads, but I really did not know much about it. Then I went to the fantasy rack and looked it over. I pick up two more that looked interesting. After checking out, I took them home and hoped one of them would help jump start my own fantasy writing.

The fantasy rack picks turned into books I returned without reading, but the first one I picked up was the perfect book. It helped spark my own writing. It kept me up most of the night reading. It was well-written and funny. It also made me wish I was as good as that author in her use of description that moved the story along. I have read the next two in the series since then, but I have not read the last two. There is nothing wrong with them, I just have not gotten there. However, the first one was the perfect book.

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, Princess or Pirate, and A Thief In Search of a Baby. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at litnlaughter@gmail.com.

Posted on November 11, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

