The End of the Story

I just finished Camp NaNoWriMo for April 2015. It is a relief, but it also comes with the same feeling I also get when I finished a story. It is merely a novel, but I finish and suddenly I am in an existential crisis. Who am I? What do I do now? Why? Who? What?

Then I tell myself that it was just a novel, which now need serious amount of editing. It isn’t necessarily all that good. First drafts usually aren’t good. But I can’t edit the novel yet as it is best to leave it for a minimum of a month. Give the story time to rest.

However, trying to write on something else is pointless. I would just end up staring at the blank page, even if I really wanted to work on the story the day before. So, what I have to do is find some way to deal with the feeling. The best solution I have found is multiple movies and some junk food. This may not be the best solution healthwise, but it seems to work for me. I don’t know if anyone else suffers from this or what they do. Maybe they have a healthier way to deal with it. But I find once the movies are over, I can write again

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, and Princess or Pirate. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at mantlerpublishing@gmail.com.

Posted on May 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

