Not as Much as You Think I Do

People ask how much time I spend writing in a day. They believe that I must be writing for hours every day to have put out so many books. After all it takes work to put out nine books and thus it must be a daily struggle. I admit that it is a daily struggle, but not because of how much work I get done. The struggle is sitting down and writing. There are plenty of days when I get no writing done at all and most days when I write less than a hundred words.

Six of the books I have put out have been written during NaNoWriMo and thus only took thirty days each to write. The editing took much longer, but it always does. I wrote my western in fits and starts over many years before getting serious. It took a year to get the book written once I focused on it. My pirate book was written slowly over several years as I worked on it when I was really interested in the work. Committed to Her Enemy was another one which I concentrated on and finished.

There is only one novel length story that I wrote on daily and finished quickly. For that story I am sure inspiration chased me through the pages. However, overall I do not write for hours a day to get my books out there. If I did, I would have a lot more stories written.

 

About heathersdomain

I'm B. Heather Mantler. I have been a writer for most of my life, with my primary focus being novels. In 2010 I learned how to finish a book through NaNoWriMo and have since used NaNoWriMo sessions (November and Camp) to write my fantasy series The Kings of Proster. I also have three other novels out; Committed to Her Enemy, Chenarcor, and Princess or Pirate. I've always got another book on the go. You can find me on Twitter under B. Heather Mantler. Also if you have any suggestions, or things you want to me to write about, send me an e-mail at mantlerpublishing@gmail.com.

Posted on March 6, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

